An affordable serum that works..

I’m thrilled to share with you my secret to a clearer skin. For reference, my skin type is oily, acne-prone. My main concerns are pimple scars and huge pores on the nose and cheeks area. A little disclaimer, these products may or may not work for you as each skin differs. I will not be liable for any problems that may occur by using the said item.

This product is The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%. If you’ve seen my recent review here of their primers, you should know by now how I think they’re overhyped. But that won’t stop me from trying their skincare line and I’m most certainly glad I did! I’ve also discontinued my 10-step Korean Skincare Routine just to test this product alone.

IMG_20170513_144140_1-01

I was a tad hesitant if I’m going to trust Wayne Goss again on this one. He seemed over the moon while explaining how this product works for him. So then I took a risk and bought myself a bottle and see for myself.

What is it?

Niacinamide (Vitamin B3) is indicated to reduce the appearance of skin blemishes and congestion. A high 10% concentration of this vitamin is supported in the formula by zinc salt of pyrrolidone carboxylic acid to balance visible aspects of sebum activity.

IMG_20170513_144239_1-01

In a nutshell

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Niacinamide, Pentylene Glycol, Zinc PCA, Tamarindus Indica Seed Gum, Xanthan Gum, Isoceteth-20, Ethoxydiglycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

I know not eveyone of us, including myself, would understand these confusing ingredients, so let me cut it down for you as per my understanding.

Niacinamide (Vitamin B3 or Nicotinic Acid) is best known for its ability to restore skin. It has anti-aging properties and also visibly enhances skin texture such as fine lines and enlarged pores. Ding ding ding! Where do I sign up?

Zinc, on the other hand, is an essential trace mineral to our body as a whole. It aids in repairing the skin and prevents acne by controlling the oil glands. Zinc deficiency may result to dry skin and acne. There it is! That could be the reason why we’re having these bumps. Bugger!

This serum aims to minimize the look of imperfections through the use of Niacinamide to brighten the skin and Zinc to help heal acne. However, this may not be used together with Vitamin C, or else it’ll not work.

Contraindications: If topical Vitamin C is used as part of skincare, it should be applied at alternate times with this formula (ideally Vitamin C in the PM and this formula in the AM). Otherwise, Niacinamide can affect integrity of pure-form Vitamin C (L-Ascorbic Acid).

IMG_20170513_144324_1-01

I first got this 18th of April. It comes in a frosted glass bottle with a pipette just like the High-Spreadability Primer. The texture is a lightweight, transparent liquid similar to most serums in the market. There’s no particular fragrance yet there is a faint plastic smell to it which really doesn’t bother me at all.

I immediately tried it out that night and disregarded other skincare products I’ve been currently using so I can see its full effect. I use approximately 6-8 drops on my entire face, concentrating on my problem areas. On its first week, the results were pretty promising. My face was much less oily and the texture has improved a lot! Through continued use, acne scars and pigmentation have lightened as well as my entire face. Enlarged pores also minimized a bit making it less visible. See before and after below. WARNING: Crater pores ahead LOL.

If you’re not impressed with these results, then I don’t know what can. I’m delighted that I’ve found a product that remarkably works. You don’t have to spend an arm and a leg either. This retails for – are your ready for it? Drumroll please.. P550! I kid you not, this serum could be your next skincare essential too!

For your The Ordinary needs, you may send a message to Ms. Rykiel De Guzman ❤

You know the drill. If you have questions, feel free to ask them in the comments and I would gladly assist you.

Cheers,

christine

14 thoughts on “An affordable serum that works..

  1. Rykiel

    Hi sis! I appreciate that you were able to provide so much information and convey it in a concise and clear way 💕 Super happy this serum is working for you! Thank you for the mention but mostly thank you for an enjoyable read 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so surprising how a single product can beat other products! I love how your skin turned out! Try ko rin yan next time! By the way, can you use it under your makeup? Or at night lang?

    Like

Leave a Reply

