Best Primer Ever??

The Ordinary brand is the newest talk of the town. All thanks to Wayne Goss for the rave introduction. If you’re unfamiliar with him, well you’re probably living under a rock. Wayne Goss is a famous british Youtuber and makeup artist extraordinaire. He revealed a couple of products that he named “PRIMER THAT BEATS THEM ALL” earlier this year. Watch the video here.

To cut things short, I purchased both for a comparison review to help you guys choose which one works best for you. So if you want to know my thoughts then make sure you stick until the end.

14449041_852617964839194_1615817635342974405_n
Image Source: thetelegraph.co.uk

The minimalist overall packaging of this brand’s entire line won me over. It’s simple and pretty straightforward.


The High-Adherence Silicone Primer ($7.90) comes in a 30 ml plastic squeezy gray tube. It’s a cream-type primer that’s said to blur imperfections and best for oily skin. It’s a light cream that sets into a velvet matte finish.

Claims 

This formula uses advanced adaptive silicones to act as a matte, hydrating, blurring primer for makeup that looks higher in definition and adheres for longer. The formula can also be used alone as a non-greasy hydrator that reduces the looks of pores and of imperfections

BeautyPlus_20170406133010_save-01

This reminds me of my Elizavecca Skin Liar Primer (P280) with the exception of colour and smell. I love that this doesn’t have a strong fragrance that could trigger my allergies.

BeautyPlus_20170406125431_save-02IMG_20170406_121300_1-01-01-01-01


The High-Spreadability Fluid Primer ($12.90) is housed in a frosted glass bottle with a pipette (dropper) and contains 30 ml of product.

Claims

This new generation of primer is a lightweight serum-like formula that increases the spreadability of subsequent complexion makeup to help avoid the unnatural and uneven accumulation of pigments especially around the eyes and on dry skin. The formula also acts as a light, non-oily surface hydrator for a natural dewy look.

BeautyPlus_20170406133743_save-01-01IMG_20170406_120716_1-01-01-02

These types are best for mature and dry skin as it smoothens dry patches, pores, and reduces the look of fine lines. It feels just like your regular silicone-based primers similar to Tarte Clean Slate Poreless Perfecting Primer and Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser.

BeautyPlus_20170406131117_save-01-01IMG_20170406_122047_1-01-01-01-01

Although my pores love this primer, I just can’t stand the messy bottle packaging as it gathers around the rim and when you try to close it, the cap just terribly stands on the side. IMG_20170406_123312_1-01

Both of these can be worn on their own or as base for makeup. Performance-wise, the High-Adherence Primer made my face look less oily for at least 3 hours while the High-Spreadability started oiling up in just an hour. On the other hand, the High-Spreadability effectively blurred my skin making the foundation glide on easily.

BeautyPlus_20170406132032_save-01-01

Final Thoughts

Naming these as the “PRIMER THAT BEATS THEM ALL” is quite overrated. Yes, I like them and they do the job but I found that there are much cheaper ones that works just as good or even better.

Got mine from @classyglamshoppe on Instagram.

Have you tried these yet? Let me know if it works for you. xx

You know the drill. If you have questions, feel free to ask them in the comments and I would gladly assist you.

Cheers,

christine

4 thoughts on “Best Primer Ever??

  1. Ai oo nga.. I saw his video a couple of weeks ago and he was medyo raving about this product. I watched other reviews and they were like, “Wayne Goss made me bought it” tapos they weren’t too happy about it. Pero may iba naman who were satisfied.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm, I’m not a huge fan of silicone primers because my makeup seems to transfer a LOT more and more easily when I use them. Glad I saw this review, I was very tempted to give The Ordinary primers a shot as I’ve been experimenting with a lot of their other products and enjoying them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

